BBSO in concert: May 18 @ 3 p.m.



05 18 14 BBSO

Bach and Beyond: The Birmingham Bloomfield Symphony Orchestra presents “Bach and Beyond,” performances of J.S. Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos Nos. 3 & 5, Christopher Theofanidis’s 2007 Orpheus Chamber Orchestra commissioned piece based on the Brandenburg concertos entitled Muse, and Tchaikovsky’s Concerto in E flat “Dumbarton Oaks.” This set of virtuosic music links the elite of genius composers from Bach’s 18th Century masterpieces to Stravinsky’s 20th Century brilliance, and the modern acclaimed composer Theofanidis of the 21st Century.  All are unmatched and in a league of their own.

382_BBSO_Informal_Portrait_2005This concert will include:

  • Bach, Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major
  • Theofanids, Muse
  • Bach, Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major
  • Stravinsky, Concerto in E Flat (Dumbarton Oaks